Skip to content
Tags

Word Metrics

August 10, 2011

THE FANTASTIC MACHINE, a hardboiled steampunk cthulhu thriller about a hotel detective struggling to keep his family & friends safe when an ancient evil is unleashed upon the 1905 World Exposition.

32% of 50k

Deadline: 1-September-2011
New words: 1718*
Total words: 16032
Accomplished in fiction: Putting one foot in front of the other, we provided security for an important meeting. The thing is, just when we thought everything was safe, the building started to shake.
Accomplished in life: Went to a cool presentation last night about Arts & Crafts and Craftsman style homes in Portland. Did a spot of grocery shopping this morning for a special dinner tonight. Then I spent first half of my writing day ironing out the implications of something I discovered yesterday. And then, thank the maker, I wrote. Woo!
Other: *(512 written yesterday) Yesterday I ran up against a plot point in the story that had remained misunderstood by me for too long and the time had come to understand it. The short answer is that’s what I spent yesterday working on it and I now understand it and the story is much better for the effort (yay!)
The long answer is that this understanding sends ripples all the way back to the opening scene. That means I’ve got a bundle of rewrites to weave in over the first 25% of the story. It’s not that the story is terribly different, it’s just that a few vagaries have become concrete and now that I know what they are and what they mean I need to rewrite those scenes. Everything is connected and everything matters.
I’ve made a note at this point in the draft declaring the following:
*** NOTE ***
Altered Opening, which ripples through to now with these important changes:
(A) [REDACTED]
(B) [REDACTED]
(C) [REDACTED]
*** 10-Aug ***
I wrote a new outline incorporating these changes to help me keep it straight. But rather than going back and rewriting from the beginning, I’ll continue forward as if those changes were already in place. I may also try to rewrite earlier scenes, if so I’ll be sure to let you know.
You may recognize that there are dangers with this plan, chiefly that when I go back and rewrite the first 25% I’ll create something that requires changes to the last 75%. Well, yeah, that happens. The flip side of that is that until I finish this draft, the beginning is going to remain fluid. I’ll probably discover a few more influential ideas before I finish this draft, so best to get it out there and written first, and then go back with what I’ve learned and write the second draft. Then repeat until yummy.

From → other

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

