Skip to content
Tags

Word Metrics

August 14, 2011

THE FANTASTIC MACHINE, a hardboiled steampunk cthulhu thriller about a hotel detective struggling to keep his family & friends safe when an ancient evil is unleashed upon the 1905 World Exposition.

51% of 50k

Deadline: 1-September-2011
New words: 2608
Total words: 25620
Accomplished in fiction: Out of the frying pan and into the fire. What can I tell ya? We entered the darkness, overcame an obstacle, found more than we bargained for, couldn’t leave the way we came, and barely got out with our hides intact. Snap!
Accomplished in life: This is it, babies. I got a bahn mi sammich for lunch, but otherwise it’s been desk time all day. I’m going to read a while to recharge my bats. And then what? More? Maybe.
Other: We have crossed the 50% line! Give it up! Also, this marks three days of 5% growth, writing over 2500 words per day. I understand that everything I’m writing now in this draft will get retouched–some parts more than others–but putting all caveats aside, I have to say that I’m happy with how this is developing. I’ve only got one major revision (that I’m aware of) (so far) (as mentioned here.) In practical terms that means that after I write the ending to this draft I’ll turn around and write the known revisions immediately (and smooth out their ripples.) That way, the draft I’ll have completed by the deadline will be in tune with itself.

From → other

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

