Skip to content
Tags

Graduating Fall/2011

September 24, 2011

A quick update on the bureaucratic process. I missed the first deadline to submit graduation paperwork, but it turns out that’s okay. Apparently it’s a commonly missed deadline, coming due the week before the term begins. I spoke with Mister Bauer, Graduate Program Administrator / Dude Constantly Saving Your Ass If You’re A Grad Student (he merits the honorific,) and we ironed it out.

What’s next: assemble my thesis committee (I’ve got 2 of 3 committee members so far,) list ’em on my GO-16 form and turn that form in to Mister Bauer.

The thesis committee are the professors who will read my thesis and discuss it with me at the thesis defense, which must occur before 4-November-2011, because that’s the rule. Right now my committee includes Charles D’Ambrosio and A. B. Paulson. I wanted Craig Lesley on there, too, but he’s ineligible because he’s taking this term off to work on his new novel, so I’ve got that third spot left to fill. Then I’ve got to find a date that works for everyone. I’m thinking 28-October, but we’ll have to see what our schedules allow.

With the committee arranged, all that’s left is paperwork and formatting my thesis for submission (margins, font, etc.) The dates and forms listed below can be used as a starting point for the 2011 graduation paper trail.

  • 19-Sept-2011: GO-16M
  • 30-Sept-2011: Application for Degree
  • 30-Sept-2011: GO-12
  • 04-Nov-2011: Thesis Defense
  • 18-Nov-2011: Thesis Submission for Final Approval (one, two, three)
  • 13-Dec-2011: GO-17M
  • From → other

    Leave a Comment

    Leave a Reply

