Skip to content

Mailbag: FTW

October 17, 2011

A few months ago I reviewed Cory Doctorow’s FOR THE WIN. In that post I talked about how I had come across the book for free and that I liked it so much I ended up buying a copy and donating it to a school in Kodiak, Alaska. Well, today I got a very cool thank you card from the Kodiak Middle School librarian.

The card shows a painting of Kodiak by local Kodiak artist Annie Poirier. In fact, here’s a picture of the card (blurriness mine.) I love it! That is so Alaska with the puffins on a rocky promontory overlooking the ocean and infinity. I love that the card is by a local artist and that it’s an Alaskan pastoral. It speaks well of the KMS librarian, she supports local artists and works hard to get good books into the hands of her students.

I wish everybody up there in Kodiak the best of luck. Maybe I’ll see you around one of these days.

From → other

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

