Skip to content
Tags

,

That’s no moon

October 21, 2011

I just want to drop y’all a quick note to say I’m churning out pages of revised content at a fevered pace, which is to say I’m delirious and possibly hallucinating. That reminds me of a funny story.

One cold and dark winter night when I was a sophomore or junior in high school I decided to read Stephen King’s THE STAND. This was in Alaska, so you know when I say winter that I mean darkness from 4pm to 11am, ten degrees (F) outside, and generally very snowy. I made a plan to read THE STAND nonstop over a few days in the winter break. Furthermore, I listened–constantly, while reading–to that one Violent Femmes album that was popular in the late ’80s–on the headphones of my cassette walkman, no less.

I wanted to experiment on myself. My hypothesis was that if I listened to that V.F. tape while reading THE STAND, then I’d develop a strong association between the two, strong enough, perhaps, that someday many years later when future-me listened to one of those songs or read some of those pages it might conjure up the corresponding sensation of the other.

Well, for what it’s worth, I’d like to tell past-me that this experiment worked. To this day when I hear Violent Femmes I remember scenes from THE STAND with eerie familiarity.

Anyway, I’m revising pages for the thesis committee. I’m handing them off on Tuesday, and then maybe I’ll sleep and dream of nights in Alaska.

From → other

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

